April 2020
Jennifer Crusco
Communications Assistant

National Art Honor Society Inductees Welcomed at Virtual Ceremony

Demarest, NJ: Outstanding student artists from the Academy of the Holy Angels were inducted into the National Art Honor Society at a virtual ceremony held on April 23. AHA art teacher Kathryn Biskup created a PowerPoint presentation to facilitate the online event.

Established by the National Art Education Association in 1978, the NAHS welcomes high school students who demonstrate a high level of scholarship in art and academics. NAHS also promotes good character, art education within and outside the halls of AHA, and service projects such as organizing the Academy’s art shows.

Holy Angels’ 2020 honorees include Rachel Bae of Harrington Park; Madeline Barone, Catherine Callahan, and JaeMin Chu of Tenafly; Lauren Behrens of Moonachie; Kristina Benjamin of Fort Lee; Molly Brooks of Bardonia, New York; Shelby Clark, Hailey Filera, Giselle Martin, and Georgina Paredes of Bergenfield; Emma DeMarco of South Nyack, New York; Bridget Elyse Donohue of Hoboken; Colleen Driscoll and Isabelle Egan of Oradell; Julia Fernandez of Teaneck; Kaitlyn Grifonetti of Old Tappan; Courtney Hairston of Englewood; Arda Hajjar of Englewood Cliffs; Samantha Han and Tamara Kim of Demarest; Ariana Layne of Upper Saddle River; Isabella Marino of Mahwah; Elizabeth McGuire of Wyckoff; Audrey Miller of Glen Rock; Brigid Miller of Pearl River, New York; Sydni Murado of Union City; Maureen Murray of Norwood; Antonia Mysliwiec of Cliffside Park; Emily Nam of Cresskill; Anais Olivier of Ridgewood; Jacqueline Rubino of Nutley; and Colleen Young of Secaucus.

Art is an integral part of the Academy’s award-winning STREAM curriculum, which highlights science, technology, religion, engineering, art, and mathematics. In recent years, AHA’s artists have earned recognition in the Scholastic Art & Writing Competition. Angels have earned several Gold Keys, Silver Keys, and Honorable Mentions in the regional event. Some of AHA’s Gold Key winners have gone on to medal in the national competition, including Diana Esoldi of Englewood Cliffs. Esoldi, who is currently serving as secretary of AHA’s NAHS Executive Board, received a silver medal for her digital photography.

NAHS Executive Board members also include President Hanna Schultz of the Township of Washington, Vice President Emma Stoecklein of Bergenfield, and Public Relations Chairs Lauren Chin of Paramus and Nicole Tasca of Leonia.

The AHA Art Department includes AHA Fine Arts Chairperson Jennifer Lee, Kathryn Biskup, and Christine Wraga DeGennaro.

Founded by the School Sisters of Notre Dame in 1879, the Academy of the Holy Angels is the oldest private girls’ school in Bergen County. While AHA is steeped in Catholic tradition, this prestigious high school serves young women from a broad spectrum of cultural and religious backgrounds. Over time, thousands of women have passed through AHA’s portals. Many go on to study at some of the nation’s best universities, earning high-ranking positions in medicine, government, law, education, public service, business, arts, and athletics. The Academy’s current leaders continue to further the SSND mission to provide each student with the tools she needs to reach the fullness of her potential—spiritually, intellectually, socially, and physically, by offering a first-rate education in a nurturing environment where equal importance is placed on academic excellence, character development, moral integrity, and service to others.

Academy of the Holy Angels

315 Hillside Avenue Contact Us & Driving Directions

Demarest, NJ 07627

Phone: 201.768.7822

Contact Us & Driving Directions

Copyright 2017. Academy of the Holy Angels. Privacy Policy.